postGrad Baby-sitting

So.
As of last week I’ve been officially assigned as staff slash clerk slash all-around assistant slash lackey at the postGrad program of this uni I recently started teaching at. I still teach, mind, but as with every other lecturer at this uni I’m bound to hold a staff position in one of the faculties in addition to teaching.

The thing that jawdrops me is how they hold the final semester exam down here. I’ve been assigned as exam attendant (don’t really know what to call that in English – it’s the dude that distributes exam sheets, etc. and stares at students during exam and is tasked to make life more miserable for them than it already is) the last two days, and let me tell you folks what I’ve seen here is absolutely hilarious.

First of all, the postGrad exams are all open-book; plus examinees are allowed to use the internet to answer questions. So there I was staring at middle-aged postGrad students working out exam questions with laptops on their desks; googling their asses off.

Second, it’s a group exam. I don’t know if such a thing even existed, or if it was officially made that way, but it sure as hell looks like one. People keep bouncing around from one desk to the next, checking out each other’s work. They need to make sure they don’t have exactly the same answers, you see. That would be, you know, cheating.

I’ve been told it’s how things are normally done around here, and that I should let them be. My job was to make sure they’re comfy and fully accommodated. Oh, did I mention we serve them lunch and snacks and coffee during exam? Anyway, I’m also told these guys pay too much money to be subjected to fair play. Indeed, no one throws away 10 million IDR per semester to get their degree the hard way.

I hope someone drops a comment saying that’s the way it is in other parts of the planet too and that I’m just plain too stupid to notice. That way I can sleep better and stop making a fuss over this.

Oh, for those of you who are new to this blog, I’m an Indonesian dude living in Papua Province, Indonesia. So if you know a thing or two about this place, feel free to relate everything I just told you to Special Autonomy, affirmative action and all that crap. I’m not in the mood to talk politics…..yet.
What? Links? Google it dammit, don’t be such a baby.

13 Responses to “<del>post</del>Grad Baby-sitting”


  1. 1 lambrtz July 17, 2011 at 2:00 am

    it’s the dude that distributes exam sheets, etc. and stares at students during exam and is tasked to make life more miserable for them than it already is

    Here it is called invigilator 😀

  2. 2 Fritzter July 17, 2011 at 4:41 am

    ^
    😯 That sure is a mouthful.

  3. 3 itikkecil July 17, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Dear fritz, here i am, starting my day as a grad student. and I feel so pessimist about my classmates, because i am the only one who pass the TOEFL requirement. we only need 450 to pass the test and I really shocked when I found out that the higher TOEFL score (not including me) is 443 and the lowest one is 337.
    And to add my happiness joining this class, they asked me to join the next TOEFL exam so they can cheat during the exam.
    My only consolation is I believe the lecturers are qualified and I can learn from them.

    for your consolation, it takes only fourteen months to become a magister in one of the private university in my city. You don’t have to attend the classes and you can take your exams home.

    BTW, is postgrad equal to S2?

  4. 4 Fritzter July 19, 2011 at 8:05 am

    @ itikkecil

    BTW, is postgrad equal to S2?

    Technically speaking, yeah it is. I believe the direct translation is “pascasarjana”.

    for your consolation, it takes only fourteen months to become a magister in one of the private university in my city. You don’t have to attend the classes and you can take your exams home.

    Ah so it is a private-uni thing. So it’s probably also like that in other private unis elsewhere in the nation eh? Or is it only in regions outside Java?

    As for toefl, yeah I can imagine it’s rather depressing that way. Although the one where I work doesn’t even have a toefl requirement 😀

  5. 5 itikkecil July 19, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Hooo.. Pascasarjana equal dengan postgrad yak? kalo program doktoral itu jadinya apa ya?

  6. 6 Fritzter July 20, 2011 at 4:46 am

    ^
    Doktoral = doctoral, doctorate. 😀

  7. 7 Ary July 22, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    An unfortunate reality of our educational system.

    Well anywhore (lol) in case anyone’s interested, my latest scores are 608 and 8.0 for paper based TOEFL and IELTS respectively.

    DAMN I’M GOOD!

  8. 8 Gentole July 26, 2011 at 2:10 am

    Yeah, it’s pretty common, I think. Cheating is the norm in many parts of the world, bung. Rumor has it that Gadhafi’s super-rich son paid a sort of a “joki” to do his dissertation and he graduated with high flying colors from London School of Economics. Yes, the prestigious LSE! Hehe…

    btw, pascasarjana is graduate school. a graduate student is “mahasiswa paska” in the local vernacular. CMIIW

  9. 9 Fritzter July 26, 2011 at 4:34 am

    @ Gentole

    CMIIW

    Now I’m not even sure you’re wrong! 😆

    To elaborate my confusion:

    Pascasarjana = graduate?
    So the term ‘undergraduate’ for S1 is still in application these days?
    I thought it was only used back in the past to refer to BA (sarjana muda), before upgrading to Drs. & Dra. (sarjana penuh).
    Now if the present S1 is supposed to be equal to Drs. & Dra., and not to BA, shouldn’t it be called graduate and not undergraduate anymore?

    To further elaborate my confusion:

    Past
    BA/Bachelor/Sarjana Muda = undergraduate
    Drs./Dra./Sarjana Penuh = graduate

    Present
    S1 = undergraduate (but it’s supposed to be higher than BA)
    S2 = graduate (but it’s supposed to be higher than Drs./Dra.)

    Seriously, kisanak. Please enlighten me on this.

    @ Ary

    608 and 8.0 for paper based TOEFL and IELTS respectively.

    That’s a wow.

    DAMN I’M GOOD!

    You are indeed.

  10. 10 Gentole July 31, 2011 at 1:39 am

    @fritz: I haven’t checked the usage of the word “graduate school” in every English speaking country, but to my knowledge (am looking for a scholarship, fyi) it refers to the level of education when you get a master degree, which is S2 here. I was told that post-grad is used only for PhD (s3) study, though at IAIN and other universities their graduate schools includes PhD too. One thing for sure sih. You don’t use “post-grads” to refer to S2 students. S1 masih dianggap “undergraduate” I guess.

  11. 11 Aldiaz July 31, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    I thought postgraduate and graduate studies/students are one and the same? Granted, institutions can use the terms as they see fit, but at least Wikipedia seems to agree with them being the very same. When you get past secondary education and in want for a degree, you aim for the “graduate” line. S1. Thus undergraduates. Once you get past this line then you’re a graduate and if you wish some more schooling to avoid work or to get a promotion it’s education for graduates aka post-graduate education. Of course, I’m not exactly a reliable source.

    “Invigilator” sounds like a job that involves crime, film noir nights, and high-end plasma guns.

  12. 12 Gentole August 1, 2011 at 9:16 am

    @Aldiaz: Hahaha aku ga baca wikipedia. Istilah graduate kayaknya dipake di amerika aja. Tapi temenku di belanda bilang kalo postgrad cuma buat doktoral aja, s2 masih graduate. Yang bikin aku tambah bingung post-grad itu juga katanya merujuk ke sekolah paska doktoral.

    Taulah. Saya juga jadi makin bingung. Hahahaha

  13. 13 Fritzter August 9, 2011 at 5:34 am

    @ Gentole & Aldiaz
    So it all amounts to this:
    1) ingrates Undergrad = S1
    2) Grad = S2 (may also refer to S3)
    3) Postgrad = S3 (may also refer to S2)
    4) Post in grave need of editing.

    @ Aldiaz

    “Invigilator” sounds like a job that involves crime, film noir nights, and high-end plasma guns.

    Agreed.
    I’ll settle for proctor.

    ……..although one may confuse the term with the fella who sticks suppositories up one’s rear end.


Leave a Reply

WANTED


Fritzter D. Loki

DEAD OR ALIVE

β 666,000,000

Currently Peeking

Categories

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031